Thelanguageandlibrarylover's Blog

I’m giggling at my desk

Posted in Uncategorized by Admin on April 6, 2009

Since joining an MLIS program, I’ve had hundreds of people ask me what exactly librarians do.  Shelf books?  Fine patrons?  Sit at a desk with a permanent frown, arching eyebrows at the hooligans over in the YA section?

I’m fairly certain that my brother believes this, because on the phone the other day he was expressing his disappointment with me.  He said, “You’ve had the job since high school, sis.  Do you seriously want to shelf books for the rest of your life?”

I sputtered a reply that didn’t altogether make sense–something about ideals and technology and organizational behaviors–and he laughed at me.

I’ve lately begun to review other librarians blogs, to get a good taste of what the field involves and also to formulate a coherent answer so that next time my brother insinuates that all I do is shelve books, I can whip out a witty remark.

Check out–

The Good Library Blog  for a fascinating look at the British Public Library Service.

Peter Scott’s Library Blog for info on worldwide library news, new technology, and notables.

Annoyed Librarian for a good giggle (but quietly, because we’re in a library!)   Here’s what I read from this last one today, concerning library “manifestos”:

I’ve already written about one of the best things about being a librarian – the fact that librarians don’t have to do much of the hard work of the library. That’s what we have parasupport workers for. This frees us real librarians up for the challenging intellectual work of librarianship. For example, there’s all those great articles published in library journals. If librarians had to do the hard grunt work of libraries, they wouldn’t be able to write up all those magnificent case studies and how-we-dunit-good articles they do now. Those things take some serious thinking! They also wouldn’t have time to write manifestos, and some librarians seem to love manifestos.Librarian’s 2.0 Manifesto. If that was the sort of clever, thoughtful, affirmative gobbledygook you like, then you’ll love the new Darien Statements on the Librarian and Librarians. When I read these, after a kind reader sent them on, I almost got goosebumps. Statements like these are like milk and honey to the Annoyed Librarian. Also, this is the sort of intelligent, creative work that couldn’t go on if librarians had to do library work, because apparently three librarians spent a whole day together crafting these. No doubt that’s because they think they have something important to say, and that we should all bow before their collective greatness. I can’t wait for the inspirational poster!

There’s lots more, so check it out!  This article had me laughing so hard that my boss turned around and asked me what was up.  Then, to make up for my fit of glee, I tied my hair into a bun and put on a sour face, all the while staring severely at those ruffians gawking at graphic novels in the corner.

Leave a Reply

